Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

Paralyzed Theodolo

Theodolo 3

Patient striving towards an amazing result

In May 2009, patient Theodolo got caught in a terrible car accident which, sadly, left both his legs paralyzed. Horrific news to a young man.

A few weeks on he began his treatment as an inpatient at Diospi Suyana Hospital. Our physiotherapist at that time, Jana Füllbrandt, cared for him. Week by week, month by month she looked after her patient at least once a day. It was a tough undertaking which, for a long time, showed no visible results.

One day, however, he was suddenly able to move his legs a little. A ray of hope on the horizon. Countless physiotherapeutic exercises were to follow. In November of the same year and with Jana’s instruction, for the first time Theodolo started walking again. Initially  supported by parallel bars, later by crutches. Eventually he was sent home. It was a true triumph over human suffering.

Some might argue that virtually any man, when aided by such a pretty physiotherapist, would learn walking again. This may be subject to individual views.

The entire hospital team, however, shared in the fabulous success achieved by our coworker from northern Germany. On one occasion and on this website she was described as „fresh wind from the north“ – that’s what she was, at least for Theodolo.

Note: In January 2014 Theodolo paid a visit to Diospi Suyana Hospital. He is fully mobile and runs his own dressmaker’s shop.

Theodolo 4

 

Leave a Reply

Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

Der gelähmte Theodolo

Theodolo 3

Mit viel Geduld auf ein fantastisches Ergebnis hingearbeitet

Der Patient Theodolo geriet im Mai 2009 in einen schweren Verkehrsunfall. Das traurige Ergebnis war die Lähmung beider Beine. Eine schlimme Nachricht für den jungen Mann.

Einige Wochen später begann sein stationärer Aufenthalt am Hospital Diospi Suyana. Unsere damalige Physiotherapeutin Jana Füllbrandt nahm sich seiner an. Woche für Woche und Monat für Monag betreute sie den Patienten mindestens einmal am Tag. Es war ein mühsames Unterfangen, lange Zeit ohne sichtbare Fortschritte.

Doch dann konnte er plötzlich seine Beine etwas bewegen. Es war ein Hoffnungsschimmer am Horizont. Unzählige physiotherapeutische Übungen sollten noch folgen. Unter Anleitung von Jana lief Theodolo im November des gleichen Jahres zum ersten Mal am Gehbarren und anschließend sogar mit Gehstützen. Er wurde schließlich nach Hause entlassen.  Ein echter Triumpf über das menschliche Leid.

Vielleicht mögen einige jetzt einwenden, dass wohl jeder Mann bei einer so hübschen Physiotherapeutin das Laufen wieder lernen würde. Das kann man sehen, wie man will.

Auf jeden Fall freute sich die ganze Belegschaft des Spitals über den großartigen Erfolg unserer norddeutschen Mitarbeiterin. Sie wurde auf dieser Web-Seite einmal als der “Frische Wind aus dem Norden” beschrieben. Für Theodolo war sie das auf jeden Fall.

Anmerkung: Im Januar 2014 besuchte Theodolo das Hospital Diospi Suyana. Er ist voll mobil und betreibt seine eigene Schneiderei.

Theodolo 4

 

Einen Kommentar schreiben