Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

Willem Benites

Willem
Willem Benites saying a prayer after his devotional

Absolutely straight to the Heart 

16 July 2009 – 150 people are gathered in the hospital’s church. Two choruses are sung, followed by a brief devotional. Some people are watching the light reflexions the sun sends through the window glass. Suddenly, all of them are wide awake.

Willem’s stories from his childhood go under your skin. „At times, my dad would beat up my mum so badly with his fists that we as children thought she was dead.  As a kid I often feared for my mum’s life. At the age of 8 I wanted to kill myself because I couldn’t stand it anymore.  It was mostly when he was drunk that my dad turned violent.”

While talking Willem furtively wipes away a few tears from the corner of his eye. Everyone in the auditorium is hanging at his every word. There is no masquerading here as someone is sharing from the bottom of his heart.

“After becoming a Christian seven years ago, I also led my father to trusting in Christ. God forgave my dad everything and Jesus is helping me to overcome the past.”

Willem Benites Carrion grew up in a mountain village in the Peruvian state of Apurímac.  His parents ran a cattle-breeding farm. He has six siblings. Willem worked in the hospital’s administration for two years before he began his theological studies in 2010. As a pastor, he would like to preach about the hope he has experienced himself.

And Jesus said: „Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.“ Mt.11:28.

Leave a Reply

Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

Willem Benites

Willem
Willem Benites spricht nach seiner Andacht ein Gebet

Absolut unter die Haut

16. Juli 2009 – 150 Leute in der Krankenhauskirche. Zwei Lieder und eine Kurzandacht. So manch einer beobachtet die Lichtreflexe, die die Sonne durch die Fensterscheiben wirft. Doch plötzlich werden alle hellwach.

Was Willem aus seiner Kindheit berichtet geht unter die Haut. „Mein Vater schlug meine Mutter manchmal so stark mit seinen Fäusten, dass wir Kinder dachten, sie sei tot.  Als Kind hatte ich oft Angst um das Leben meiner Mama. Mit 8 Jahren wollte ich mich sogar umbringen, weil ich es nicht mehr ausgehalten habe. Meist wurde mein Vater gewaltsam, wenn er betrunken war!”

Während er redet, wischt er sich verstohlen einige Tränen aus den Augenwinkeln. Im Auditorium hängt nun jeder an seinen Lippen. Keine Maskarade, hier läßt jemand in sein Herz blicken.

“Nachdem ich vor sieben Jahren Christ geworden war, führte ich auch meinen Vater zum Glauben an Gott. Gott hat meinem Vater alles vergeben und Jesus hilft mir meine Vergangenheit zu verarbeiten!”

Willem Benites Carrion wuchs in einem Bergdorf im Bundesstaat Apurímac auf. Seine Eltern gingen der Viehzucht nach. Er hat sechs Geschwister. Zwei Jahre lang hat er in der Verwaltung des Spitals mitgearbeitet. 2010 begann er ein Theologiestudium. Er möchte als Pastor von der Hoffnung  reden, die er selbst erfahren hat.

Und Jesus sagte: “Kommet her zu mir alle, die ihr mühselig und beladen seid; ich will euch erquicken!” (Matthäus 11,28 nach Luther)

Einen Kommentar schreiben