Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

The wondrous elevator

Ziehl-Abegg

A story without rhyme or reason

January 2009. The John family are spending a two week vacation in Eibenstock/ Ore Mountains, Germany. At the end of their winter vacation when the landlady, a certain Mrs. Schreier, watches a laptop presentation about Diospi Suyana she waives the rent. Over a lovely evening meal, Mr. Schreier mentions that he used to work in the elevator business. “An elevator – that is exactly what we still need at the hospital”, exclaims Dr. Klaus John.

15 October 2009. Upon recommendation of Mr. Schreier, Dr. John attends the world’s largest elevator fair in Augsburg, Germany. Mr. Schreier arrives from Saxony. Armed with hospital brochures both walk through one exhibition hall after another. Seven components are needed, in other words seven companies will have to get in on the hospital’s project.

The two men present themselves at the stand of Ziehl-Abegg AG. This company based in Künzelsau, Germany, sells the needed drives (cost: USD 10,000). As the general manager is not around Dr. John and Mr. Schreier leave a brochure for him. They return to the stand at 2 pm and get to speak with the general manager, Mr. Arnold. He says: “When I first heard that two men had asked for an elevator drive for a hospital in Peru I thought ‚no way!’ Then, as I opened up your brochure I noticed it was about the same hospital my brother-in-law visited the year before. He was ever so enthusiastic when he showed us pictures of the project. It was immediately clear to me that we needed to help!”

In the evening of 15 October seven companies had agreed to provide the project’s components, their value totaling more than EUR 40,000. Subsequently, “Life Report”, the magazine of the German Association of Elevator Manufacturers, published a 5-page article in German and English about the elevator for Diospi Suyana Hospital.

The Schreier family also donated material to the value of several thousand euro to the project. In July 2010 they travelled to Peru at their own expense to install the elevator. It all began with some strange vacation guests in Germany’s snow blown Ore Mountains. An atheist might argue: „You were just very lucky!“ or „Coincidences do happen!“ As Christians, however, we feel that God’s power is just as real as the vacation cottage in the Schreier family’s garden.

Wolf-Dietrich Schreyer
On August 4, 2010 the first passagers enter the elevator. Wolf-Dietrich Schreyer is watching from the left hand side

 

 

Leave a Reply

Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

Der wundersame Aufzug

Ziehl-Abegg

Eine Geschichte, die niemand erklären kann

Januar 2009: Die Johns verbringen zwei Wochen in Eibenstock/ Erzgebirge. Als die Vermieterin des Ferienhauses – eine gewisse Frau Schreier – eine Laptop-Präsentation über Diospi Suyana sieht, verzichtet sie am Ende der Winterferien auf die Miete. Bei einem netten Abendessen zum Abschied erwähnt Herr Schreier, dass er früher in der Aufzugsbranche gearbeitet hat. “Ein Aufzug – das ist genau das, was uns noch am Spital fehlt”, ruft Dr. Klaus John.

15. Oktober 2009: Auf Empfehlung von Herrn Schreier kommt Dr. John zur weltgrößten Aufzugsmesse nach Augsburg. Herr Schreier reist aus Sachsen an. Mit einigen Broschüren bewaffnet gehen sie durch die Messehallen. Sieben Komponenten werden benötigt, also sieben Firmen müssen in das Projekt einsteigen.

Die beiden werden auch am Stand von Ziehl-Abegg AG vorstellig. Dieses Unternehmen aus Künzelsau vertreibt die Antriebe (Kostenpunkt: 10.000 USD). Der Prokurist der Firma ist nicht da. Dr. John und Herr Schreier hinterlassen eine Broschüre. Um 14 Uhr kehren sie zurück. Da äußerst sich Herr Arnold (Prokurist): “Als ich hörte, das zwei Männer für ein Krankenhaus in Peru um einen Aufzugsantrieb bitten, dachte ich, das kommt doch überhaupt nicht in Frage. Aber als ich die Broschüre aufklappe, sehe ich das gleiche Spital, das mein Schwager vor einem Jahr in Peru besucht hat. Zuhause zeigte er begeistert Fotos von dieser Arbeit. Mir wurde sofort klar, hier müssen wir helfen!”

Als der 15. Oktober zu Ende ging, hatten sieben Firmen alle Komponenten des Projektes von über 40.000 Euro zugesagt. Im Lift-Report, der Verbandszeitschrift der deutschen Aufzugsfirmen erschiene fünf lange Seiten auf Englisch und Deutsch über den Aufzug für das Hospital Diospi Suyana.

Auch die Schreiers haben für einige Tausend Euro Materialien zum Projekt beigesteuert. Im Juli (2010) reisten sie auf eigene Kosten nach Peru, um den Aufzug zu installieren. Alles begann mit merkwürdigen Feriengästen im schneeverwehten Erzgebirge. Ein Atheist sagt vielleicht: “Haben die Schwein gehabt oder es gibt gesteuerte Zufälle!”  Als Christen sagen wir, die Kraft Gottes ist so real, wie das Ferienhaus im Garten der Familie Schreier.

Wolf-Dietrich Schreyer
Die erste Fahrt unseres Aufzugs am 4. August 2010. Wolf-Dietrich Schreyer steht auf der linken Seite und freut sich.

Einen Kommentar schreiben