Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

Qori Sauñe

Quori Saune

Terrorists murdered my father

11 January 2011 – Monday morning, 160 people sitting in the auditorium, among them patients and co-workers. A young medical student stands at the lectern and tells the story of her family. Everybody seems gripped by it. She talks about her father, Romulo Sauñe, and his lifework.

Her father, Romulo, used to live in a poor Indian mountain village in the Peruvian State of Ayacucho. Having become a committed Christian as a teen, he wanted to make Christ’s message accessible to all Quechua Indians. His dream became reality when, together with a translation institute, he translated the complete Bible into the language of his people.

In those years, the Peruvian mountains saw bitter fighting going on between the terror group „Shining Path” and government troops. Romulo called on the parties to reconcile and opposed any type of violence which, of course, was a thorn in the terrorists’ side. On 5 September 1992 he was trapped in a roadblock by guerrillas.

He immediately started to preach of the love of God to the terrorist commando group. A few moments later, however, the leader of the terrorists opened fire. While Romulo was bleeding to death in a hail of bullets, his last words were „God loves you. Jesus loves you.“

The death of Pastor Sauñe played a significant role in uniting the churches of Peru. Nearly two decades have gone by since the bloody crime was committed but since then the Bible, painstakingly translated by Romulo, has become a bestseller in the Peruvian mountains.

While Qori Sauñe is relating the story in a matter-of-fact way, without playing on our heart strings, some listeners secretly wipe their eyes. She herself would like to finish her medical studies and start serving the Quechua as a doctor as soon as possible.

Such faith is more than a cultural heritage and more than a cute church festivity. Jesus once said: If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me!

Leave a Reply

Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

Qori Sauñe

Quori Saune

Die Terroristen haben meinen Vater ermordet

11. Januar 2011 – Montagmorgen, im Auditorium sitzen 160 Zuhörer, Patienten und Mitarbeiter. Die junge Medizinstudentin steht am Podium und als sie die Geschichte ihrer Familie erzählt, sind alle gepackt. Sie berichtet vom Lebenswerk ihres Vaters Romulo Sauñe.

Ihr Vater Romulo lebte in einem armen indianischen Bergdorf im Bundesstaat Ayacucho. Als Teenager wurde er überzeugter Christ und wollte die Botschaft von Christus für alle Quechuas zugänglich machen. Sein Traum wurde Wirklichkeit als er gemeinsam mit einem Übersetzungsinstitut die gesamte Bibel in die Sprache seines Volkes übersetzte.

In jenen Jahren tobte in den peruanischen Bergen ein erbitterter Kampf zwischen der Terrorgruppe „Der leuchtende Pfad“ und den Regierungstruppen. Romulo rief zur Versöhnung auf und wandte sich gegen jegliche Gewalt. Damit war er den Terroristen natürlich ein Dorn im Auge. Am 5. September 1992 ging er den Guerrillas an einer Straßensperre in die Falle.

Er begann sofort dem Terrorkommando von der Liebe Gottes zu predigen. Doch einige Augenblicke später eröffnete der Chef der Terroristen das Feuer. Als er im  Kugelhagel verblutete, lauteten Romulos letzte Worte: „Gott liebt Euch. Jesus liebt Euch“

Der Tod von Pastor Sauñe trug wesentlich zur Einigung der peruanischen Kirchen bei. Fast zwei Jahrzehnte sind seid diesem blutigen Verbrechen vergangen, aber die Bibel, die Romulo in mühsamer Kleinarbeit übersetzte, ist mittlerweile in den peruanischen Bergen zu einem Bestseller geworden.

Qori Sauñe erzählt sachlich und ohne auf die Tränendrüse zu drücken und doch reibt sich so Mancher verstohlen die Augen. Sie selbst möchte ihr Medizinstudium abschließen und möglichst bald den Quechuas als Ärztin helfen.

So ein Glaube ist mehr als Kulturgut und mehr als ein beschauliches Kirchenfest. Jesus sagte einmal: „Wer mir nachfolgen will, der verleugne sich selbst und nehme sein Kreuz auf sich und folge mir nach!“

Einen Kommentar schreiben