Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

Lisa Isaak

Lisa Isaac

A Young Woman with a Big Decision to Make

Lisa sits at her table in the dental lab, carefully working on some dentures. As she concentrates on the object in her hands, she tells me her story:

Lisa spends the first six months of her life in a German village in Kazakhstan; this country between the Caspian Sea and the Altai Mountains had 17 million inhabitants before the collapse of the Soviet Union. When Kazakhstan declares its independence in 1990, 2 million people, primarily Germans and Russians, leave their adopted homeland. Lisa remembers how her parents sold the family home, exchanging the proceeds for non-cash assets as the emigrants are not allowed to leave with large sums of money.

Lisa´s life continues in Michelstadt/Hesse, Germany, where she trains as a dental lab technician after leaving school. She enjoys her work and now she could put down roots and settle, but deep within she senses there is something else…as a believer in Jesus Christ it is her desire to serve God in her profession.

In 2008 she takes part in a 2 month missionary trip to Indonesia, then attends Bible school in Oberhof for 6 months and her desire to serve as a missionary in the so-called Third World grows. She searches the internet for a suitable job as a dental technician abroad but after a year and a half, she still has not been able to find anything.

In 2008 she takes part in a 2 month missionary trip to Indonesia, then attends Bible school in Oberhof for 6 months and her desire to serve as a missionary in the so-called Third World grows. She searches the internet for a suitable job as a dental technician abroad but after a year and a half, she still has not been able to find anything.

She then makes a momentous decision – if she can´t find a place as a missionary in her own profession, she is prepared to re-train as a nurse and in summer 2010 applies for a training position at three German hospitals. At Easter 2011 she receives an offer from a hospital in Stuttgart and has two weeks to sign the contract and return it to her future employer.

Lisa has no peace at all. The contract lies on her desk but she is not really sure whether this really is the right way for her. She prays for guidance. The days go by….had n´t an acquaintance said something about a mission hospital in Peru? Lisa surfs the internet and clicks on the Diospi Suyana website….she can´t believe her eyes…the heading is about a dental clinic in Peru.

She immediately contacts the Diospi Suyana German office and a few days later more information arrives by post, including an invitation to a day conference in June for those considering serving with Diospi Suyana. But June is too late; she only has a week to make her decision.

Monday evening …today she has to sign the contract and get it in the post. With a heavy heart she reaches for her pen and signs her name. As she does so, she catches sight of her laptop open on the desk..an email has just come in. It is from somebody called Dr. John, asking if they can talk.

The next day, the mission doctor invites her to Peru and instead of the training contract, Lisa sends her apologies to Stuttgart.

She has been living in the Andes in Peru since February 2012. She does not receive a salary from Diospi Suyana but is financially supported by a small group of friends. Lisa is content. She can do what she has always wanted to do – to serve God with her professional skills. It is a blessing to the Quechua Indios as Lisa makes them German quality dentures and bridges, and the quality really is not bad.

Summarizing, we can conclude that God´s timing is perfect. We may ponder back and forth but when it gets five till twelve, God takes action – often in the breath-taking way He did with Lisa.

 

Leave a Reply

Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

Lisa Isaak

Lisa Isaac

Ein junge Frau steht vor einer schweren Entscheidung

Lisa sitzt an ihrem Tisch im Dentallabor und bearbeitet sorgfältig eine Prothese. Während sie sich auf den Gegenstand in ihren Händen konzentriert erzählt sie mir ein wenig aus ihrem Leben.

Die ersten sechs Kindheitsjahre verbrachte Lisa in einem deutschen Dorf in Kasachstan. Das Land zwischen dem Kaspischen Meer im Westen und dem Altai-Gebirge im Osten hatte vor dem Zerfall der Sovietunion 17 Millionen Einwohner. Als Kasachstan im Jahr 1990 seine Unabhängigkeit erklärte, verließen zwei Millionen Menschen – vorwiegend Deutsche und Russen – ihre angestammte Heimat. Lisa erinnert sich wie ihre Eltern das Haus verkauften und in Sachwerte umtauschten, denn es war den Emmigranten nicht erlaubt größere Geldsummen mit auf die Reise zu nehmen.

Für Lisa ging das Leben in Michelstadt/Hessen weiter. Nach der Schulzeit lässt sie sich zur Zahntechnikerin ausbilden. Der Beruf macht ihr Spass und eigentlich könnte Lisa in Deutschland nun endgültig Wurzeln schlagen. Aber tief in ihr bemerkt sie eine gewisse Unruhe. Als überzeugte Christin möchte sie ihre beruflichen Fähigkeiten in den Dienst Gottes stellen.

2008 nimmt sie an einem zweimonatigen Missionseinsatz in Indonesien teil. Anschließend besucht sie für ein halbes Jahr eine Bibelschule in Oberhof. Ihr Wunsch für mehrere Jahre als Missionarin in einem Land der sogenannten Dritten Welt zu arbeiten verfestigt sich. Sie sucht über das Internet eine passende Stelle als Zahntechnikerin im Ausland. Aber trotz aller Mühe wird sie 1 1/2 Jahre lang nicht fündig.

Schließlich trifft Lisa einen folgenschweren Entschluss. Wenn sie in ihrem eigenen Beruf keine entsprechende Tätigkeit an einem Missionsspital finden sollte, dann ist sie bereit eine zweite Ausbildung als Krankenschwester zu machen. Im Sommer 2010 bewirbt sie sich an drei deutschen Krankenhäusern um einen Ausbildungsplatz in der Krankenpflege. Zu Ostern 2011 erhält sie eine Zusage aus Suttgart. Zwei Wochen hat sie nun Zeit den Vertrag unterschrieben an den zukünftigen Arbeitgeber zurückzuschicken.

Lisa findet keinen Frieden. Der Vertrag liegt auf ihrem Schreibtisch, aber sie ist sich nicht sicher, ob dieser Weg wirklich der richtige ist. Sie betet um einen Fingerzeig von oben. Die Tage verstreichen. Hatte ihr nicht einmal eine Bekannte von einem Missionsspital in Peru berichtet? Lisa surft im Internet und klickt auf die Web-Seite von Diospi Suyana. Sie traut ihren Augen nicht. Die Überschrift handelt von einer Zahnklinik in Peru.

Sofort nimmt sie Kontakt mit dem deutschen Büro von Diospi Suyana auf. Einige Unterlagen treffen auf dem Postweg ein und sie erfährt, dass sie im Juni an einem Interessententag teilnehmen könnte. Doch Juni ist zu spät. Ihr bleibt nur noch eine Woche um sich zu entscheiden.

Es ist Montagabend. Heute muss sie den Vertrag unterschreiben und in den Briefkasten stecken. Schweren Herzen greift sie zum Kugelschreiber und setzt ihren Namen unter das Schriftstück. Da fällt ihr Blick auf den geöffneten Laptop neben ihr auf dem Schreibtisch. Eine E-mail trifft gerade ein. Sie kommt von einem gewissen Dr. John, der sie gerne einmal telefonisch kontaktieren möchte. Am nächsten Tag lädt sie der Missionsarzt nach Peru ein und Lisa schickt statt des Arbeitsvertrags eine Ablehnung nach Stuttgart.

Seit Februar 2012 lebt die Deutsche nun in den Anden Perus. Sie erhält vom Hospital Diospi Suyana kein Gehalt, sondern wird über einen kleinen Freundeskreis unterstützt. Lisa ist zufrieden. Sie darf genau das machen, was sie immer tun wollte, nämlich Gott in ihrem Beruf zu dienen. Die Quechua-Indianer profitieren davon. Sie erhalten von Lisa Brücken und Prothesen in deutscher Qualität und die ist nicht die schlechteste.

Als Zusammenfassung könnten wir feststellen, dass das Timing Gottes perfekt ist. Wir grübeln hin und her und wissen oft keinen Rat. Doch wenn der Zeiger der Uhr auf Fünf vor Zwölf steht, handelt Gott – oft auf atemberaubende Weise wie bei Lisa.

Einen Kommentar schreiben