Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

A moving moment on a deathbed

Doris Manco’s father died yesterday at 7:04a.m.

Just after 5p.m. on Saturday Radio Diospi Suyana went on air in the Province Andahuaylas. In the valley beneath our aerials you can see the outskirts of the metropolis.  Each one of the 0.1 million inhabitants can now tune into 96.1FM: Radio Diospi Suyana.

A minute later Doris Manco, head of our Media Centre, messages the good news to her friends and family.  Her old father, lying in his bed in Lima and hardly able to move, hears his daughter’s voice out of his mobile’s loudspeaker.  It is clear that he will soon lose his battle against the cancer he has been fighting for a while.  But he still has his wits fully about him.  Doris’ enthusiasm that comes across in her WhatsApp message affects him too.  He is delighted!  Perhaps in this moment he experienced last great wave of emotion in his life.  For three years now he has encouraged his daughter again and again to work for Diospi Suyana in Curahuasi.  “That is exactly the right place for you to be,” he often said.

The sun was just rising the next morning, when he died.

Diospi Suyana wants to pass on the best message that exists via satellite and radio towers.  We do not simply want to provide entertainment or information.  Jesus says: “Whoever believes in me will live even when he dies!”  In the light of Doris Manco’s Dad this statement gets a special meaning.  The believing Christian, Armando Manco, will see his daughter again, and she him!  There is no better comfort than the words of Christ.

That is why the first Christians met on a Sunday for their services and not, as it is common for Jews, on a Saturday.  Jesus rose from his grave on the first day of the week.  Their encounter with the risen Jesus changed everything: their perspective of this life and the life the other side of death.  For this reason Jesus’ 11 Disciples were prepared to die as martyrs in Asia, Africa and Europe.  Thomas died in India, Peter in Italy, James in Jerusalem.

For over 2,000 years millions upon millions of people have put all their hope into this one occurrence: our Lord’s resurrection.  All of us at Diospi Suyana want to express our heartfelt sympathy to Doris and wait with her for Heaven! /KDJ

Archive photo taken on 2nd September 2016. Doris Manco stands in front of the logo of our Media Centre. Written exactly above her head are the words: “Con el mejor mensaje al mundo“, which translates as: “With the best message for the world!“

Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

Ein ergreifender Moment auf dem Totenbett

Gestern um 7:04 Uhr starb der Vater von Doris Manco

Am Samstag um kurz nach 17 Uhr ging das Radio Diospi Suyana in der Provinz Andahuaylas auf Sendung. Im Tal erkennt man unterhalb unserer Antennen die Ausläufer der Großstadt. Alle 100.000 Bewohner eines ganzen Landstrichs können sich ab sofort auf 96,1 FM zuschalten.

Eine Minute später verschickt Doris Manco, die Leiterin unseres Medienzentrums, die gute Nachricht an viele Freunde. Auch ihr alter Vater in Lima hört die Stimme seiner Tochter im Lautsprecher eines Handys. Er liegt im Bett und kann sich kaum noch rühren. Es sieht so aus, als würde er den Kampf gegen seine Krebserkrankung bald verlieren. Aber seine Sinne sind noch hellwach. Die Begeisterung von Doris, die in der WhatsApp deutlich wird, steckt auch ihn an. Er freut sich mit. Vielleicht ist das in diesem Augenblick die letzte große Gefühlswallung seines Lebens. Seit drei Jahren hat er seine Tochter immer wieder ermutigt für Diospi Suyana in Curahuasi zu arbeiten. “Das ist genau der richtige Platz für dich!”, hatte er stets gesagt.

Als am nächsten Morgen der Tag anbricht, stirbt er.

Diospi Suyana möchte die beste Botschaft, die es gibt, über Satellit und Radiotürme weitergeben. Uns geht es um viel mehr als Unterhaltung oder Aufklärung. Jesus sagte: “Wer an mich glaubt, der wird leben, selbst wenn er stirbt!” In Anbetracht des Todes von Doris Vater gewinnt diese Aussage eine besondere Bedeutung. Der gläubige Christ Armando Manco wird seine Tochter wiedersehen und sie ihn. Es gibt keinen besseren Trost als die Worte Christi.

Deshalb trafen sich die ersten Christen sonntags zu ihren Gottesdiensten und nicht wie bei den Juden üblich am Samstag. Am ersten Tag der Woche hatte Jesus sein Grab verlassen. Und ihre Begegnung mit dem Auferstandenen veränderte alles: Ihre Perspektive von diesem Leben und vom kommenden jenseits des Todes. Die 11 Jünger Jesu waren auf Grund dieser Erfahrung sogar bereit in Asien, Afrika und Europa als Märtyrer zu sterben. Thomas ließ sein Leben in Indien, Petrus in Italien und Jakobus in Jerusalem.

Seit 2000 Jahren setzen Abermillionen Menschen ihre ganze Hoffnung auf dieses Ereignis, die Auferstehung ihres Herrn. Wir alle von Diospi Suyana wünschen Doris unser herzliches Beileid und warten mit ihr auf den Himmel. /KDJ

Archivfoto vom 2. September 2016. Doris Manco vor dem Logo unseres Medienzentrums. Genau über ihrem Kopf steht geschrieben: “Mit der besten Botschaft für die Welt!” (Con el mejor mensaje al mundo)