Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

All my joints ache

Frau ohne Schuhe Balken slider

The female patient without shoes

The old married couple looks seriously into the camera. For the Quechua Indians life in the mountains of Peru is hard and for these two people it actually is extremely hard. This woman is just 65 years old and already drew attention today when she hobbled into the morning service barefoot. Since years she walks without the typical rubber sandals that her husband is wearing. When she tried the left sandal always slipped off her left foot and then she tripped most of the times. At this time of the year it is cold in the mountains in the mornings and evenings. The woman has to endure amazing things, better to say horrible things.

Nobody knows exactly how long she has been walking so lopsided. The descriptions are alternating between “from childhood” to “since a few years”. But she is not coming because of her feet, rather because of the pain in all joints. More her wrists, because they disturb her more than the hip, especially when she is working.

She got some lab work and an X-ray of her pelvis done. The hospital paid for the medication for her arthritis, gastritis and for the parasites in her bowels. “When you come back in three months, we will give you your pain relievers again for free!” Dr. Martina John couldn’t have said anything better, because now the sad face started smiling big.

Beckenaufnahme der Frau ohne Schuhe slider
The left hip (right from the observer) is barely functional.

Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

Alle Gelenke tun mir weh

Frau ohne Schuhe Balken slider

Die Patientin ohne Schuhe

Das alte Ehepaar schaut ernst in die Kamera. Für die Quechua-Indianer ist das Leben in den Bergen Perus hart, für diese beiden Menschen sogar ganz besonders. Diese Frau ist nur 65 Jahre alt und fiel schon dadurch auf, dass sie barfuß in den Morgengottesdienst humpelte. Sie läuft seit Jahren ohne die typischen Gummireifensandalen, die ihr Mann trägt. Bei ihr rutschte die linke Sandale immer vom Fuß ab und dann stolperte sie meist.  Jetzt ist es morgens und abends kalt im Bergland. Was die Indianerin alleine mit ihren Füßen aushalten muss, ist erstaunlich. Besser gesagt, erschreckend.

Keiner weiß genau, wie lange sie schon so schief läuft. Die Angaben schwankten von “seit der Kindheit” bis zu  “seit einigen Jahren”, aber wegen der Füße kam sie gar nicht, ihr tun nämlich alle Gelenke weh. Mehr sogar noch die Handgelenke, was sie beim Arbeiten mehr beeinträchtigt als die Hüfte!

Sie erhielt eine Laboruntersuchung und ein Röntgenbild des Beckens. Die Medikamente für ihre Arthritis und Magenschleimhautentzündung, sowie für die Parasiten in ihrem Darm bezahlte das Hospital Diospi Suyana. “Wenn sie in drei Monaten wiederkommen, geben wir ihnen die Schmerzmittel wieder umsonst!” Etwas besseres hätte Dr. Martina John wohl nicht sagen können, denn jetzt begann ein trauriges Gesicht zu strahlen.

Beckenaufnahme der Frau ohne Schuhe slider
Die linke Hüfte (rechts vom Betrachter) ist kaum noch funktionsfähig.