Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

What an onrush of patients

Waiting rooms and corridors bursting at the seams

This morning we carefully made our way by car through the huge crowd.  Dr Reinhard Kühn commented: “One simply cannot handle such an onrush!”  Despite that fact that hundreds of people are clogging up rooms and corridors, everything is surprisingly calm and disciplined.  Pictures can hardly tell the whole truth, you have to have seen it for yourself.  All these people are on a mission.  Some of them have travelled over thirty hours – passing several hospitals on their way to Curahuasi – in order to be told the correct diagnosis and be treated accordingly.

Four people, sent by their village community somewhere in Cusco State, approach our administration team: “Please build the same hospital for us.  We will gladly give you the plot of land you require!”

Late that evening in the intensive care unit doctors and nurses are fighting for a patient’s life.  He had kidney failure.  He made it to the hospital, despite an incredibly long journey, but then suffered cardiac arrest.

We must, however, get some sleep at night to be fresh for the next day.  Tuesday won’t be much easier.

A queue 250m long outside of the Hospital Diospi Suyana.
Entrance to the doctor’s rooms.
You will not find one free seat in waiting room #1.
The front main entrance: “We also want to come in!”
Rear entrance. Patience is called for.
A delegation from Cusco State: “Please build the same hospital for us in our neighbourhood!”

Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

Der totale Patientenansturm

Volle Wartesäle, volle Fluren

Am Morgen bahnen wir uns mit dem Auto vorsichtig einen Weg durch die Menschenmenge. “So ein Ansturm kann nicht mehr bewältigt werden!”, meint Dr. Reinhard Kühn. Obwohl mehrere hundert Menschen die Säle und Gänge verstopfen, geht alles erstaunlich ruhig zu. Eigentlich können Bilder die wahre Situation kaum wiedergeben. Man muss es selbst gesehen haben. Alle diese Hilfesuchenden haben eine Mission zu erfüllen. Sie sind zehn, zwanzig und sogar dreißig Stunden gefahren – an vielen Krankenhäusern vorbei – um die richtige Diagnose und die heilende Behandlung zu bekommen.

Vier Männer erscheinen in der Verwaltung. Sie kommen im Auftrag ihrer Dorfgemeinschaft irgendwo aus dem Bundesstaat Cusco. “Bitte baut bei uns das gleiche Spital. Wir schenken Euch auch das passende Grundstück!”

Spät am Abend kämpfen Ärzte und Krankenschwestern auf der Intensivstation noch um das Leben eines Menschen. Er befindet sich im Nierenversagen. Die lange Anfahrt nach Curahuasi hielt er noch durch. Dann erlitt er in der Notaufnahme einen Herzstillstand.

Wir müssen in der Nacht aber etwas schlafen und neue Kräfte sammeln. Der Dienstag wird nicht einfacher.

250 m Schlange draußen vor dem Hospital Diospi Suyana
Eingang zu den Arztzimmern
Wartesaal 1. Jeder Sitzplatz ist besetzt.
Haupteingang vorne: “Wir wollen auch noch rein!”
Hinterer Eingang. Geduld ist das Gebot der Stunde.
Eine Abordnung aus dem Bundesstaat Cusco. “Bitte baut das gleiche Krankenhaus auch in unserer Gegend!”