Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

That was our year 2018: from January to June

Unbelievable progress

What a year! For the first time sponsorship money (€2,500) was raised for Diospi Suyana at the Rallye Dakar: a certain Dr Tobias Thorban (above left) who worked at the Herzog Elisabeth Krankenhaus in Melverode, now a senior doctor at our missionary hospital, looked after the Mini X-Raid Team made up of 100 people.

In January the company based in Immenstaad reduced the price for their telemetry equipment by €43,000, whereby all radio complexes can now be monitored from Curahuasi. The company’s head of sales made the following comment: “We were so moved by Diospi Suyana’s story that now all departments in our company have heard about the news!”

In January the company based in Immenstaad reduced the price for their telemetry equipment by €43,000, whereby all radio complexes can now be monitored from Curahuasi. The company’s head of sales made the following comment: “We were so moved by Diospi Suyana’s story that now all departments in our company have heard about the news!”

Beginning of February three missionary families arrived in Peru. Hanna Tielmann writes: “After 24 hours of travelling we arrived exhausted, but happy at 10p.m. on Sunday evening at Diospi Suyana’s guest house. We, the group of travelers met at Madrid Airport, namely Mr and Mrs Kügler from Berlin, Family Kessler from Heidelberg, Family Tielmann from Herne and Tanja Derksen.” Since 2006 180 long-term missionaries have worked at Diospi Suyana.

The stream of patients visibly increased in 2018. Even though there is a lot of cheap accommodation (with up to 70 beds) in the hospital’s vicinity, patients prefer to sleep directly at the hospital’s fence, using plastic tarpaulin as a defence against the rain. The picture was taken during the night of the 4th March.

After long negotiations with the Ministry of Transport and Communications the Asociación Civil Religiosa Diospi Suyana was given permission to operate Radio- and TV-channels. However, beforehand the whole of the German Media Law had to be translated into Spanish. We are probably the only organisation in Peru that employs European staff which has this recognition.

On 27th March pupils of the Diospi-Suyana-School performed a passion play. Jesus rode on a real donkey into the open air theatre, which was made up of the school’s outdoor facilities. For everyone who was present it was an unforgettable evening.

 

10 years after the first article in the Berliner Tagesspiegel the second article about the missionary hospital was printed in its 1st April edition. Michael Schmidt, the author, wrote honestly and homed in on our practised faith in God.

The German President Frank Walter Steinmeier presented the missionary doctors Dr Martina and Dr Klaus John with the Federal Cross of Merit on Ribbon. Jörg Ranau, the German Ambassador in Lima personally presented the medals in his Residence in Lima. The official ceremony lasted 3 hours.

For Mother’s Day our media group organised a raffle that was broadcast live on radio and TV. Seven generous hampers waited for the happy winners. 239 female listeners living in Curahuasi District and beyond dialed in hoping to be among the lucky winners. The prizes were donated by the local newspaper Chaski and several shops.

We don’t give fire a chance. Finally the Hospital and the Media Centre have a sophisticated smoke detection system. On 22nd May Andre Bacher, Benjamin Azuero and Yessica Herreras performed the decisive trial runs.

On25th May we treated the 300,000th patient. The father of six children and his wife were honoured in the morning service. By the end of 2018 the figure had crossed the 327,000 mark. Alone in 2018 we treated 48,000 patients, a new record; most of them come from the States of Cusco, Apurimac, Madre de Dios and Puno.

Our Orthopaedic Workshop opened its doors in the first week of June. Among other things Daniel Müller makes high-quality prostheses for leg amputees. Company Streifeneder based in Emmering near Munich gave us a fantastic 50% discount in the price of the workshop’s equipment.

On 12th June cyber warfare became a tragic reality for Diospi Suyana. For a full 24 hours no one could access our website that was launched in 2003 – it was the first time that our website was the victim of such an attack. Thousands of site accesses from many different countries blocked our domain and led to our host to shut down the website.

After Dr Klaus John’s presentation to staff of the company Schölly Fiberlptic GmbH based in Denzlingen made a donation of high-tech equipment worth a five digit sum. Furthermore Regula Schölly made a very generous financial donation.

We are delighted that all areas of Diospi Suyana are blossoming: the hospital, the school, the media centre and the 12 children’s clubs are realising Diospi Suyana’s vision. We want to help the poor and spread the good news of Jesus Christ. Tomorrow I will report on the second half of 2018…!/KDJ

Facebook | 

Radio Diospi Suyana

Das war das Jahr 2018 – Januar bis Juni

Unglaubliche Fortschritte

Was für ein Jahr. Zum ersten Mal wurde bei der Rallye Dakar auch für Diospi Suyana gesammelt. Und das geschah so: Ein gewisser Dr. Tobias Thorban (oben links) vom Herzog Elisabeth Krankenhaus aus Melverode betreute das 100-köpfige Mini X-Raid Team. Das Spital verband die Teilnahme seines Oberarztes mit der Unterstützung für Diospi Suyana in Curahuasi. Der Erlös lag bei 2.500 Euro.

Im Januar senkte das Immenstaader Unternehmen den Preis für die Telemetrie unserer Sendetürme um 43.000 Euro. Damit können von Curahuasi aus alle Radioanlagen überwacht werden. Ein Verkaufsdirektor kommentierte die Unterstützung folgendermaßen: “Wir waren von der Geschichte von Diospi Suyana so bewegt, dass wir mittlerweile diese Botschaft bereits in unsere gesamte Organisation (Firma) getragen haben!”

In der ersten Februarwoche kamen gleich drei Missionarsfamilien in Peru an. Hanna Tielmann schrieb: „Nach einer 24-stündigen Reise trafen wir müde aber fröhlich am Sonntagabend um 22 Uhr im Gästehaus von Diospi Suyana ein. Am Madrider Flughafen hatte sich unsere Reisegruppe gebildet. Wir sind das Ehepaar Kügler aus Berlin, Familie Kessler aus Heidelberg und Familie Tielmann aus Herne mit Tanja Derksen. Seit 2006 haben schon 180 Langzeitmissionare bei Diospi Suyana mitgearbeitet.

Der Patientenansturm hat 2018 deutlich zugenommen. Obwohl es neben dem Spital mehrere preisgünstige Unterkünfte mit rund 70 Betten gibt, ziehen es viele Patienten vor direkt am Zaun zu nächtigen. Mit Plastikplanen schützen sie sich gegen den Regen. Das Bild wurde am 4. März in der Nacht aufgenommen.

Nach langen Verhandlungen mit dem Ministerium für Transport und Kommunikation wurde die Asociación Civil Religiosa Diospi Suyana ermächtigt eigene Radio- und TV-Kanäle zu betreiben. Dazu musste das gesamte deutsche Mediengesetz in die spanische Sprache übersetzt werden. Wir sind wohl die einzige Organisation mit europäischen Mitarbeitern, die in Peru eine solche Anerkennung erhalten hat.

Am 27. März führten die Schüler der Diospi-Suyana-Schule ein Passionsspiel auf. Jesus ritt auf einem echten Esel in das Freilichttheater, das aus den Außenanlagen der Schule bestand. Der Abend wird für alle Teilnehmer unvergesslich bleiben.

 

Zehn Jahre nach dem ersten Artikel im Berliner Tagesspiegel, erschien am 1. April die Fortsetzung. Der Bericht aus der Feder von Michael Schmidt war ehrlich und handelte im Wesentlichen von unserem gelebten Glauben an Gott.

Der deutsche Bundespräsident Frank Walter Steinmeier verlieh den Missionsärzten Dr. Martina und Dr. Klaus-Dieter John das Bundesverdienstkreuz am Bande. Die Orden wurden vom deutschen Botschafter Jörg Ranau in seiner Residenz in Lima überreicht. Der Festakt dauerte drei Stunden.

Anlässlich des Muttertags veranstaltete unsere Mediengruppe eine Tombola, die im Radio und Fernsehen übertragen wurde. Sieben umfangreiche Geschenkkörbe warteten auf die Gewinner.  239 Hörerinnen meldeten sich telefonisch aus dem Distrikt Curahuasi und darüber hinaus, um an der Ausscheidung teilzunehmen. Die Preise waren eine Spende der Regionalzeitung Chaski und mehrerer Geschäfte.

Wir geben dem Feuer keine Chance. Endlich sind Spital und Medienzentrum mit einem ausgeklügelten Rauchmeldesystem ausgestattet. Die entscheidenden Probeläufe führten Andre Bacher, Benjamin Azuero und Yessica Herreras am 22. Mai durch.

Am 25. Mai registrierten wir den 300.000sten Patientenbesuch. Der Vater von sechs Kindern wurde mit seiner Frau im Anschluss an den Morgengottesdienst geehrt. Bis zum Jahresende hat sich diese Zahl auf über 327.000 erhöht. 2018 behandelten wir 48.000 Patienten, so viel wie noch nie. Die meisten Hilfesuchenden kommen aus den Bundesstaaten Cusco, Apurimac, Madre de Dios und Puno.

In der ersten Juniwoche nahm unsere Orthopädie-Werkstatt ihren Betrieb auf. Daniel Müller stellt u. a. hochwerte Prothesen für beinamputierte Patienten her. Die Firma Streifeneder aus Emmering bei München half mit einem kräftigen Preisnachlass von 50% bei der Ausstattung der Fachräume.

Der Cyber-Krieg wurde am 12. Juni für Diospi Suyana traurige Wirklichkeit. Einen ganzen Tag lang war unsere Web-Adresse nicht aufrufbar. Unsere Seite besteht seit 2003. Zum ersten Mal wurde sie Opfer eines erfolgreichen Cyper-Angriffs. Viele Tausend Aufrufe aus mehreren Ländern blockierten unsere Domäne und führten zur Abschaltung durch unseren Host.

Nach einem Vortrag von Dr. Klaus John bei der Schölly Fiberlptic GmbH spendete das Denzlinger Unternehmen Hightech im fünfstelligen Bereich. Obendrein überwies Regula Schölly eine überaus großzügige Geldspende.

Wir freuen uns, dass alle Arbeitsbereiche von Diospi Suyana boomen. Das Krankenhaus, die Schule, unser Medienzentrum und derzeit 12 Kinderclubs verwirklichen die Vision von Diospi Suyana. Wir wollen den Armen helfen und die gute Nachricht von Jesus Christus weitergeben. Morgen werden sie sehen, dass die zweite Jahreshälfte den Mitarbeitern alles abverlangt hat. /KDJ